“A global volunteer organization working to improve the lives of women and girls

through programs leading to social and economic empowerment."

Soroptimist International of Oakdale

Who We Are

Soroptimist is a global women’s organization whose members volunteer to improve the lives of women and girls through programs leading to social and economic empowerment. Approximately 80,000 Soroptimists in 130 countries and territories support community–based and global projects benefiting women and girls. The organization is particularly concerned with providing women and girls access to education, as this is the most effective path to self-determination.The name, Soroptimist, means "best for women," and that's what the organization strives to achieve. Soroptimists are women at their best, working to help other women to be their best.

Soroptimist members belong to local clubs. Clubs participate in the Dream Programs of Soroptimist, Live Your Dream: Education and Training Awards for Women and Dream It, Be It: Career Support for Girls to help women and girls achieve social and economic empowerment. The Dream Programs of Soroptimist ensure women and girls have access to the education and training they need to reach their full potential and live their dreams. Soroptimist is committed to investing in programs that have a sustainable, measurable change for women and girls. Clubs also participate in local level projects such as providing mammograms to low-income women, working to end sex trafficking for women and girls and mentoring women in domestic violence shelters.

Chartered in 1954, Soroptimist International of Oakdale is proud to be a member of the Oakdale community.

Email: sioakdale@soroptimist.net

Facebook:  Oakdale Soroptimist

SI Oakdale Board of Directors 2016-2017

President Nancy Lilly

President Elect Marcia Speiller

Vice President Cheryl Koff

Treasurer Elaine McConnell

Corresponding Secretary

Debbie Carreira

Recording Secretary

Christine Serpa-Neugebauer

Advisor Diane Ott

Parliamentarian Tamberly Stone

1 Year Director Suzette Titus

2 Year Director Lisa McCormack

Delegate Lois Kobayashi